Free E-Books on the Web
This is the "Can I Download, Print, Et Cetera?" page of the "E-books @ the CIIS Library" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

E-books @ the CIIS Library   Tags: e-books, ebooks, electronic books, online books  

This guide will cover how to find, use, and cite e-books at the CIIS Library (and beyond!)
Last Updated: Oct 29, 2015 URL: http://researchguides.ciis.edu/e-books Print Guide RSS Updates

Can I Download, Print, Et Cetera? Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Considerations Before Downloading E-books

Some of the CIIS Library's e-books are protected by DRM (Digital Rights Management) systems.  

DRM systems control the use of digital content, such as downloadable songs, DVDs and CDs, games, and of course, e-books. You can download DRM-protected library e-books onto your computer or your laptop, but you need to install Adobe® Digital Editions (ADE) software.

KINDLE USERS:

  • ADE does NOT support any Amazon Kindle e-readers
  • This means that you CAN'T download any DRM-protected book onto a Kindle, UNLESS you are able to use a non-ADE DRM intermediary (for example, EBSCO e-books may be read on the Kindle Fire using the Bluefire app).
  • You may use the "Send to Kindle" service to send PDFs or other documents from your browser, desktop or e-mail. More information is available from the Amazon Web site.
 

Can I Download, Print, Make Notes?

This information is for reference only, not for accessing individual e-books. You can find individual e-books linked in the library catalog for all collections except for APA PsycBOOKS titles, which are available via the APA database.
Please note that all downloaded copies of books are intended for personal use only.

NAME OF E-BOOK
COLLECTION
CAN I
DOWNLOAD?
CAN I
PRINT/COPY?
CAN I MAKE NOTES? IMPORTANT!
ebrary E-Books (1) Yes. You must create a free account and sign in whenever you want to download.
(2) Can create a PDF of a chapter or a specific page range, with page limits (differs by publisher, usually 60 pages).
(3) Can download whole book for a limited time using free Adobe Digital Editions (ADE) software. You will be prompted at the time of your download to install the software that is required.
Yes, for most books. 60 pages max, copy or print. Yes, but you must sign in to your account/bookshelf. Please note that if you download a book to Adobe Digital Editions, that all notes and highlights will be lost when the title expires after 14 days. Please be sure to copy the notes to a permanent file (in Word or RefWorks), or limit your annotations to online reading only, as these notes will be saved to your ebrary bookshelf. All notes and highlights saved to ebrary bookshelf will be kept until you delete them manually. (1) Some publishers only allow reading online and not downloading.
(2) View instructions for transferring downloaded e-books to a mobile device.
(3) The old Ebrary app has been retired, and Ebrary suggests using the Bluefire app, available at App Store and Google Play store.
(4) For non-iOS or non-Android mobile devices, Ebrary suggests using an Adobe-DRM-compliant reader app like DL Reader.
(5) Please note that if you download a book to Adobe Digital Editions, that all notes and highlights will be lost when the title expires after 14 days. Please be sure to copy the notes to a permanent file (in Word or RefWorks), or limit your annotations to online reading only as these notes are saved to your ebrary bookshelf. All notes and highlights saved to ebrary bookshelf will be kept until you delete them manually.
EBSCO E-books (formerly "NetLibrary") No full e-book downloads. One-at-a-time checkout model limits usage. Can download PDFs of page ranges - see note at printing. Differs by publisher, typically 60 pages. See guide for printing/saving e-books pages as PDF. Yes, but you must sign in to your account. (1) Each book can only be used by 1 person at a time! If the book is being used by someone else, note will say "this book is in use." Once the other person exits (or if they leave it open and unused for 20 minutes) it will become available again.
(2) You can read books online with your laptop or desktop computer.
(3) If you are using an Apple computer, and are having difficulty opening the full-text, you may need to install a free software plug-in called Schubert|It.
(4) For Windows tablets, there is no support for in-browser reading - you must download/e-mail yourself sections of the book. Select a section of the book and click on "e-mail PDF" to send a page range or a section to yourself.
(5) Visit the full EBSCO E-book support site.
Oxford Reference Not directly. Must click printer icon and then save as a PDF. Individual chapters and entries only, not entire books. Yes. Individual chapters and entries only, not entire books. No. (1) Oxford will limit to specific titles linked from the catalog, but otherwise will show ALL of their titles, not just he ones we get; if you are getting just citation and abstract, check "Show full text results only" to limit to titles we have in full text.
(2) Visit the Oxford support site for more information.
PsycBOOKS (APA) Yes. Individual chapters only, not entire books. Yes. Individual chapters only, not entire books. No. These titles are currently not in the CIIS Library catalog. Access via the APA database.
SAGE Research Methods Yes. Individual chapters, entries and articles only, not entire books or any part of the "Little Green Books". Yes. Individual chapters, entries and articles only, not entire books. No. "Little Green Books" may not be downloaded.
SpringerBooks Yes, 100%. Yes, 100%. No. The platform may show ALL of their books and/or articles, not just the ones we can get. If you are getting just citation and abstract, UNCHECK the "Preview" box to limit to titles we have in full text. If you are seeing articles mixed in with books, limit to "Book" under Content Type.
Taylor & Francis Psychology Collection Yes, 100%. Some titles are DRM and have time limits. See notes. It depends.  Non-DRM titles 100%, DRM titles offer different options. See notes. No. (1) Requires a software download to view the e-books online or offline. You must have Adobe Acrobat and a plug-in called FileOpen. Download the FileOpen plug-in for free.
(2) Some of these titles are subject to DRM. If you see a DRM icon to the right of the title, there are usage restrictions:
  • An online user session of 120 minutes per book
  • One concurrent access per book for titles under perpetual ownership.
  • A print allowance of 30 pages per user session
  • A copy/paste allowance of 1000 words per user session
  • Offline (downloaded) copies valid for 36 hours (print/copy/paste disabled). The validity period of downloaded copies may vary from institution to institution.
(3) Visit the Taylor & Francis support site for more information.

Reference Librarian

Profile Image
Kelly Sundin
Contact Info
e-mail about this guide: ksundin@ciis.edu
e-mail for research assistance: askref@ciis.edu
e-mail for technical assistance: syslib@ciis.edu
phone: (415) 575-6187


image from Krazy Kat by George Harriman, 9/4/1918
Send Email
 

What Is "DRM"?

Digital Rights Management (DRM) is technology that controls access to, tracks, and limits uses of digital works.

The technology is part of the digital item and goes along with it when it is distributed to the consumer.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip